Recognising organisational excellence

The Towards Excellence Accreditation process is a great way to check that your organisation has all the right processes and procedures in place to make sure your finance department is a great place to work.  We want to help create a culture where staff feel appreciated and successes are celebrated.

The One NHS Finance National Accreditation board have agreed that accreditation with CIPFA will no longer be compulsory under criterion 1.3.5, which covers the requirement for professional body accreditation. This was decided following the introduction of a fee by CIPFA to apply for their professional accreditation. Organisations wishing to secure CIPFA accreditation are still encouraged to do so.

The submission deadlines are 31 December, 30 April and 31 August each year. Please ensure you are using the 2022 version of the proforma and once completed, please send to

Want to know more?

Watch our short animation

Find out more about the three levels of our Towards Excellence accreditation process

View here

Top tips & FAQs

Read frequently asked questions about our accreditation process.

Find out more

Guidance from FLC

Read guidance from the Finance Leadership Council.

Find out more

Accreditation assessors

Useful documents for those who have trained as accreditation assessors.

Find them here

Professional bodies

Information about professional accountancy bodies which your organisation must be registered to.

Find out more

Finance Director Declarations

Within Level 1 of the accreditation process there is the requirement to demonstrate: 1.1.9 Evidence of Future Focused-Finance (FFF) Director of Finance/Chief Finance Officer Declaration.

Declarations here

Level 1 Proforma

Will be achieved through a process of self-assessment with statements from the FD/CFO confirming that all the relevant criteria are achieved by the organisation.

Find out more

Level 2 Proforma

Will require peer assessment by another NHS body.

Find out more

Level 3 Proforma

Will also require peer-assessment by another NHS body.

Find out more

Process & Guidance

Information and guidance around all three accreditation processes for both organisations and assessors

Find out more

Top 10 Reasons Why You Should Get Accredited

Find out the benefits of accreditation.

Find out more

Level 2 Accreditation Workshop

Local North East Yorkshire and Humber Value Maker workshop – Working towards Level 2 Accreditation.

Watch Here

Towards Excellence Accreditation Assessors Training September 8

This event will run through the process of conducting a level 2 & 3 Towards Excellence Accreditation, looking at the processes and skills involved.

Book here